Skip to main content

Federal grants available for community facilities in Tennessee damaged by 2022 winter storms

 U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) Rural Development Tennessee State Director Arlisa Armstrong today announced the availability of grants to help plan for the restoration of essential community facilities that were damaged by severe winter storms in 2022. The facilities must be located in eligible rural areas and presidentially declared disaster areas.

“The Biden-Harris Administration and USDA stand ready to deploy every resource we have available to help families and individuals rebuild their lives and their communities,” Armstrong said. “The assistance I'm announcing today will help rural communities across this state have the resources they need to repair essential community facilities that were damaged by natural disasters in 2022. Under the leadership of President Biden, Vice President Harris and Secretary Vilsack, USDA remains committed to helping America's rural communities build back better by making rural infrastructure – including vital community facilities – more resilient in the face of increasingly severe floods, wildfires, hurricanes and other risks.”

USDA is also making $2.5 million in grants available through the Community Facilities Technical Assistance and Training (CF TAT) Disaster Repair Grant Program, which provides technical assistance and training with respect to essential community facilities programs. Eligible applicants include public bodies, federally recognized Indian Tribes and nonprofits.

Funds may be used to:  

·        Assist communities in identifying and planning for community facility needs,

·        Identify resources to finance community facility needs,

·        Prepare reports, surveys and applications.

The communities must be located in presidentially declared disaster areas in Alaska, American Samoa, Arizona, California, Colorado, Florida, Idaho, Illinois, Kansas, Kentucky, Maine, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Oregon, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Texas, U.S. Virgin Islands, Vermont, Virginia, Washington or West Virginia.

Funds may be used in the following Tennessee presidentially declared counties:

Cocke County                       Haywood County                       Putnam County

Coffee County                       Henderson County                    Shelby County               

Crockett County                    Knox County                             Tipton County

Davidson County                  Lauderdale County                   Washington County

Fayette County                     Maury County                           Weakley County

Greene County                     Perry County 

Haywood County

Applications for Community Facilities Technical Assistance and Training Disaster Repair Grants will be accepted until Nov. 29, 2023.  The maximum award amount is $50,000 for Ultimate Recipients and $250,000 for Technical Assistance Providers.

For more information, visit page 60176 of the Aug. 31, 2023 Federal Register, contact Chris Hampton ( or Allen Hawk ( or visit  

The Biden-Harris Administration made this funding possible through the Consolidated Appropriations Act of 2023.

These funds are part of the series of disaster grant funds USDA is making available to help rural people in presidentially declared disaster areas who were impacted by natural disasters in 2022. Disaster grant funds will help rural communities repair water infrastructure and essential community facilities and help very-low- and low-income homeowners repair damaged homes. 

Additional resources to support rural communities seeking disaster assistance are available at