Skip to main content

Fall elections held in six cities

Ken Moore Wins
Franklin Mayor Ken Moore and his wife Linda are exuberant after his landslide victory on Oct. 24, 2023. (Photo by John Partipilo)


TT&C Assistant Editor

Elections were held in six municipalities this fall, including a run-off in Knoxville.


Only one of the six aldermen seats up for election in Centerville had a contested race in the city’s Oct. 7 election.

Incumbent Dagan Bates retained the Alderman Ward 1 seat, defeating challenger Glenda Delk 134 to 49. Incumbents Lonnie Horner and Derek Newsom ran unopposed and were re-elected to the Ward 2 and Ward 4 seats respectively. Newcomer Beckie Bates ran unopposed and will be elected to the Ward 3 seat previously held by Molly Bates while Terry Glen Barber ran unopposed for the Ward 5 seat previously held by Gary Wright.

Ken “Guido” Daron ran unopposed and was elected to the two-year, unexpired Ward 1 term. Daron was appointed to this seat in 2022 until an election following the death of Ward 1 Alderman David Dansby.


The city of Franklin held a municipal election on Oct. 24.

Incumbent Ken Moore defeated Alderwoman Gabrielle Hanson with Moore earning 12,822 votes to Hanson’s 3,322.

Incumbent Brandy B. Blanton defeated challenger Gary Moore 10,946 to 4,666 in the Alderman At-Large Position B race while incumbent Ann Petersen fended off challenger Jeff Feldman in the At-Large Position C race with Petersen earning 10,961 votes to Feldman’s 4,243.

Newcomer Greg Caesar defeated fellow challengers Patrick George and B.K. Muvvala for the At-Large Position C seat formerly held by Gabrielle Hanson. Ceasar earned 10,336 votes over Geroge’s 4,249 and Muvvala’s 825. Caesar presently serves as the vice-chair of Franklin’s Board of Zoning Appeals.

Incumbent Clyde Barnhill ran unopposed and was re-elected to his At-Large Position A seat with 11,837 complimentary votes.


Four council seats and the municipal judge seat went to run-off elections in Knoxville on Nov. 7.

Newcomer Debbie Hensley beat fellow challenger R. Bentley Marlow with 10,576 votes to 4,303 votes in the At-Large Seat B race. The seat was previously held by Janet Testerman. Incumbent Amelia Parker fended off challenger Tim Hill with 9,240 votes to Hill’s 6,181 for the At-Large Seat C race.

Two incumbent candidates also ran unopposed and were re-elected to their seats. Lynne Fuagate received 11,236 complimentary votes for the At-Large Seat A while Charles Thomas received 10,599 complimentary votes for the Council District 4 set.

Newcomer Tyler Caviness defeated incumbent John R. Rosson Jr. for the municipal judge seat. Cavinness earned 9,450 votes to Rosson’s 5,925.


Milan held its municipal election on Nov. 7.

Incumbent B.W. Beasley defeated challenger Clay McCoy with 752 votes to 325 votes in the mayoral race. McCoy is presently a Ward 1 alderman in Milan.

In the Ward 1 race, incumbent Michael A. McAdoo defeated challenger Bradley Arnold with 460 votes to 100. The remaining races for alderman were uncontested with newcomer Richard Rushing Jr. earning 248 votes for the Ward 2 seat, incumbent Jeffrey Paul Lifsey earning 103 votes for the Ward 3  seat, and incumbent Richard Adkisson earning 108 votes for the Ward 4 seat. Michael A. McAdoo also ran unopposed and was elected to the city court clerk seat with 969 votes. Patsy Bradley did not seek re-election.


Oneida held a municipal election on Nov. 4, bringing four new faces to the Oneida Board of Mayor and Aldermen.

Lori Phillips-Jones defeated fellow challengers Harold Brooks and Bruce Mays to take the mayoral seat previously held by Jack E. Lay, who did not seek re-election after 28 years as Oneida mayor. Phillips-Jones received 545 votes to Mays’ 342 and Brooks’ 27. Phillips-Jones has been serving as an alderwoman, but left her seat to run for mayor and previously served as the 8th Judicial District Attorney General.

Incumbent Mark Byrd will be joined on the board of aldermen by former Oneida vice mayor and Scott County Mayor Jeff Tibbals as well as newcomers Rick Harper and Dakota Smith, beating out incumbent and current vice mayor Tobey Mays and challenger Dusty J. Lewallen for the four open seats.

In addition to Phillips-Jones, Alderwoman Allison Mays did not seek re-election. Harper led the vote count with 606 votes followed by Smith, with 487, Byrd with 469, Tibbals with 457, Mays with 456, and Lewallen with 349.


Selmer held a municipal election on Nov. 7.

Incumbent Willie C. Sain will be joined on the Selmer Board of Mayor and Aldermen by two newcomers, Mike Cain and Lashell Moore, after defeating incumbent J.T. Hawkins and challengers William Britton, Ed Huggins, Thomas O’Neal, and Larry Tomaszewski. Sain led the vote count with 261 followed by Cain with 252, Moore with 251, Hawkins with 235, O’Neal with 210, Tomaszewski with 170, Huggins with 147, and Britton with 54.