Skip to main content

Ten municipalities receive federal transportation grants

Nolensville Pike
Nolensville Pike in Nashville

Several Tennessee municipalities were awarded funds as part of the more than $14 billion in federal funds set aside for roadway safety by the federal government.  

The U.S. Department of Transportation announced the grant as part of the Safe Streets and Roads for All grants in the Bipartisan Infrastructure Law. In Tennessee, 10 municipalities and four county governments were recipients of grants.  

Athens, Dickson, Franklin, Jackson, Lebanon, Milan, Mt. Juliet, and Murfreesboro all received grants to develop transportation plans. Athens received $84,000, Dickson $240,000, Franklin $192,000, Jackson $240,000, Lebanon $240,000, Milan $60,000, Mt. Juliet $328,000, and Murfreesboro $288,000.  

The Knoxville Regional Transportation Planning Organization also received $24,000 for transportation planning while the city of Knoxville will receive $8 million for a pedestrian and cyclist safety project. The city of Nashville received a federal grant totaling more than $13 million to make improvements along Nolensville Pike.  

Franklin, Morgan, Scott, and Williamson counties also received funds for planing and multimodal safety projects.  

The funding helps communities address roadway safety through a comprehensive approach that uses all types of interventions, which aligns with DOT’s National Roadway Safety Strategy. These funds will help tackle the preventable crisis of deaths on the nation’s roads through safer people, roads, and vehicles, appropriate vehicle speeds, and improved post-crash care. This first-of-its-kind program was created by the infrastructure law and is a part of the more than $14 billion in the law dedicated to roadway safety.