Skip to main content

5 cities hold June elections


Five municipalities held elections in June ahead of a busy election schedule later this year. 

A mixture of old and new faces will be seen on boards in Livingston, Maynardville, and Parsons while incumbents took the day in Brownsville and Plainview.  

With state and federal primary elections to be held on Aug. 4, 2022, a total of 80 municipalities will also hold local elections next month with more than 200 scheduled to coincide with federal and state general elections in November.  

Tennesseans who want to cast a ballot in the Aug. 4 elections register or update their voter registration before the voter registration deadline on Tuesday, July 5. For more information about voter registration, visit Go Vote TN


A municipal election was held for the city of Brownsville on June 21. Incumbent Mayor William “Bill” Rawls ran unopposed and was re-elected to his seat. 

In the city’s Ward 2, incumbent candidate Carolyn Flagg defeated challenger Dewayne Thomas Hill while incumbent Travis Pugh also fended off challenger David Duke in the city’s Ward 3 election.  


The town of Livingston held a municipal election on June 1 for three at-large alderman seats. 

Incumbent candidates David H. Langford and Chris Speck will be joined on the Livingston Board of Mayor and Alderman by challenger Bruce Elder, all of whom ran unopposed for the three open seats. Elder, the president and CEO of the Peoples Bank and Trust, ran for the seat vacated by Kelly Coleman, who chose not to run for re-election.  


A municipal election was held for the city of Maynardville on June 28.  

Incumbent Ty Blakely will be joined by newcomer Jennipher Ford on the Maynardville City Council after both received more votes than incumbent Marty R. Smith.  


The city of Parsons held a municipal election on June 2.  

Incumbent Tim Boaz ran unopposed and was re-elected mayor of Parsons. 

Seven candidates ran for the seven open seats on the Parsons City Council. Incumbents Kevin Cagle, Marty Carrington, William Dale Taylor, Lanny Taylor, and Jimmy Walker will be joined newcomers Madison Cagle and John P. Odle. Current councilmen Joseph Fisher and Larry Townsend did not seek re-election.  


A municipal election was held for the city of Plainview on June 28.  

Incumbents Josh Collins and Richard D. Phillips ran unopposed and were re-elected to their seats on the Plainview Board of Mayor and Alderman.