Skip to main content

Crews sworn in to Tennessee State Senate

Sen. David Crews is sworn in to serve Tennessee Senate District 9 at the Tennessee State Capitol in Nashville

David Crews has officially been sworn in as the Tennessee State Senate and will represent Senate District 9 until the state general election is held on Nov. 8.  

Crews was appointed to the vacant seat by the McMinn County Commission after former State Sen. Mike Bell retired early from the Senate to begin his new role with the Tennessee Wildlife Resources Agency.  

“I am honored to serve the people of the 9th Senate District, even for this short period of time,” said Sen. Crews. “I will work hard for the citizens in Bradley, McMinn, Meigs, Monroe and Polk Counties and fulfill the duties of the office. I will be available to help with state services in any way I can. I appreciate the McMinn County Commission for trusting me with this responsibility.” 

Crews formerly served as the chairman of the McMinn County Commission.  

Due to redistricting based on the 2020 U.S. Census, Tennessee Senate District 9 will become Senate District 1 after the November election with Senate District 1 becoming District 9. Republican J. Adam Lowe of Cleveland will face off against Democrat Patricia Waters of Athens for the District 1 seat on Nov. 8.  

Crews and Family
Crews and his family after the swearing-in ceremony at the Tennessee State Capitol in Nashville.