Skip to main content

Four Tennessee lawmakers chosen for leadership roles with NBCSL

Lawmakers elected

Four Tennessee lawmakers were chosen for leadership positions within the National Black Caucus of State Legislators during the organization’s annual meeting in Las Vegas. 

State Sen. Raumesh Akbari, D-Memphis, has been elected vice president of the organization while State Rep. Harold Love Jr., D-Nashville, was elected the organization’s president elect and Reps. Antonio Parkinson, D-Memphis, and Torrey Harris, D-Memphis, were both selected as at-large members of the executive council.  

Both Akbari and Love have served in previous roles with the organization. Love serving as the organization’s president last year while Akbari served as its financial secretary. 

Alabama State Rep. Laura V. Hall presently serves as the organization’s president.  

The National Black Caucus of State Legislators serves as a national network and advocate for public policy and action on critical issues affecting African Americans and other marginalized communities. Established in 1977, NBCSL represents more than 700 state lawmakers and 50 million Americans.