Skip to main content

Nearly 180 city police departments awarded Violent Crime Intervention Fund grants


Nearly 180 municipal police departments will share in more than $93.5 million in Violent Crime Intervention grants being distributed to law enforcement agencies across Tennessee.  

VCIP grants are administered through the state’s Office of Criminal Justice Programs (OJCP), which utilizes grant monies to support innovative projects statewide in efforts to reduce criminal activity, provide services for victims of crime and promote overall enhancement of the criminal justice system in Tennessee. OJCP services include technical assistance, training, strategic planning, interagency coordination, research, assessments, and program facilitation, development, and administration.  

A total of 21 municipal police departments will share in the $50,214,610 in competitive VCIP grants, including the Bartlett Police Department, Bristol Police Department, Cleveland Police Department, Cookeville Police Department, Covington Police Department, Dickson Police Department, Dyersburg Police Department, Elizabethton Police Department, Gatlinburg Police Department, Hendersonville Police Department, Jackson Police Department, Jefferson City Police Department, Knoxville Police Department, McMinnville Police Department, Mosheim Police Department, Oak Ridge Police Department, Savannah Police Department, Sharon Police Department, Soddy-Daisy Police Department, Sweetwater Police Department, and Tazewell Police Department.  

Additionally, 179 municipal police departments will share in the $43,389,356 in formula grants awarded as part of the fiscal year 2023 VCIF.  

Departments awarded in East Tennessee include Alcoa, Athens, Atoka, Bean Station, Blaine, Bristol, Calhoun, Caryville, Chattanooga, Cleveland, Clinton, Collegedale, Dandridge, Dayton, Dunlap, East Ridge, Elizabethton, Englewood, Etowah, Gatlinburg, Graysville, Greeneville, Jacksboro, Jamestown, Jasper, Jefferson City, Johnson City, Jonesborough, Kimball, Kingsport, Kingston, Kingston Springs, Knoxville, LaFollette, Lenoir City, Lookout Mountain, Loudon, Madisonville, Maryville, McMinnville, Morristown, Mosheim, Mountain City, New Market, New Tazewell, Newport, Norris, Oak Ridge, Oliver Springs, Pigeon Forge, Red Bank, Rockwood, Rocky Top, Rutledge, Sevierville, Soddy-Daisy, South Pittsburg, Spring City, Sweetwater, Tazewell, Tellico Plains, Townsend, Tusculum, Unicoi, Vonore, Wartburg, White Pine, and Whitwell.  

Awards granted to police departments in Middle Tennessee include Alexandria, Algood, Ashland City, Baxter, Belle Meade, Berry Hill, Brentwood, Carthage, Centerville, Chapel Hill, Clarksville, Clifton, Cookeville, Cowan, Crossville, Cumberland City, Decherd, Dickson, Eagleville, Erin, Estill Springs, Fairview, Fayetteville, Franklin, Gainesboro, Gallatin, Goodletsville, Gordonsville, Greenbrier, Hendersonville, Huntland, La Vergne, Lafayette, Lawrenceburg, Lebanon, Lewisburg, Manchester, Memphis, Milan, Millersville, Mt. Juliet, Mt. Pleasant, Nashville, Nolensville, Portland, Red Boiling Springs, Shelbyville, Smithville, Smyrna, Sparta, Spring Hill, Springfield, Tracy City, Tullahoma, Wartrace, Watertown, Waverly, Waynesboro, White Bluff, and Winchester.  

For West Tennessee, departments receiving grants include Adamsville, Alamo, Bartlett, Bells, Bolivar, Brighton, Brownsville, Bruceton, Collierville, Covington, Dresden, Dyer, Dyersburg, Gadsden, Gallaway, Germantown, Gleason, Greenfield, Halls, Henderson, Henry, Hollow Rock, Humboldt, Huntingdon, Jackson, Kenton, Lexington, Martin, Mason, McKenzie, Munford, New Johnsonville, Newbern, Paris, Parsons, Powell’s Crossroads, Ridgley, Ripley, Rossville, Rutherford, Savannah, Scotts Hill, Selmer, Sharon, South Fulton, Tiptonville, Toone, Trenton, Trimble, and Whiteville.  

For a complete list of award recipients and funding amounts, visit here.