Skip to main content

Elections held in seven cities


Municipal elections were held in seven cities, including a sales tax referendum in Lenoir City and elections of city officials in six other municipalities.  


The city of Brownsville held a municipal election on June 18. 

Two incumbents ran unopposed and were re-elected to their seats. Antwan Smith ran unopposed and was re-elected to the Ward 1 seat with 17 complimentary votes while Brad Bishop ran unopposed and was re-elected to the Ward 3 seat with 39 complimentary votes.  


Voters in Lafayette went to the polls on May 9. 

Tony Day ran unopposed and was elected to the Lafayette mayoral seat with 86 votes. Day previously served as an alderman and took over the position from Jerry Wilmore, who said he only wished to serve one term as mayor. 

Newcomer Dale Hix will join incumbents Roger Jones and Jason Phelps for the three open seats on the Lafayette City Council. Hix will take over the seat vacated by Day. Phelps received the most votes with 70, followed by Hix with 68 and Jones with 62. 


For the second time in six years, voters in Lenoir City rejected a local sales tax referendum on April 13. The proposal to raise the city’s sales tax from 2% to 2.75% was earmarked for expansions to the Lenoir City School system as well as a community and senior center. The referendum failed 496 to 236.  


Voters in Livingston participated in a municipal election on June 4. 

Newcomer Lori Elder Burnett defeated fellow challengers Nathan Carr, Nathan Dale, and Robert Jolley to take the open mayoral seat in Livingston. Longtime Mayor Curtis Hayes announced his retirement after serving 18 years in the role.  

Burnett led the tally with 393 votes followed by Dale with 242, Jolley with 132, and Carr with 46.  

Incumbent Alderman Rex Dale will also be joined by newcomers Lance Ruble and Arno Proctor on the Livingston Board of Aldermen, defeating challenger Jeramie Reeder for the three open seats. 

Dale led the vote count with 549 followed by Ruble with 513, Proctor with 396, and Reeder with 381.  


Incumbent Chris Beckman defeated challenger Louis “Andy” Etienne for the single open alderman seat in an election held in Loretto on April 23. Beckman received 66% of the vote while Etienne received 34%.  


Voters went to the polls in Maynardville on June 25 

Newcomer Conner Chesney will join incumbents Isaac Collins and Len Padgett on the Maynardville City Commission, defeating incumbent Tim Young and challengers Kayla McMann Luck and Danny Smith for the three open seats. 

Collins led the vote count with 125 followed by Padgett with 102, Chesney with 101, Young with 86, Smith with 77, and Luck with 68.  


Residents of Plainview cast their ballots in a municipal election on June 25. 

Newcomer Lynn Beeler defeated incumbent Gary D. Chandler for the mayoral seat in Plainview. Beeler earned 226 votes to Chandler’s 151.  

Newcomer Keith Brantley will join incumbent Rebecca Lock on the Plainview Board of Aldermen, defeating incumbent Gordon Bright for the two open seats.  Brantley led the vote count wiht 283 followed by Lock with 267 and Bright with 140.